224

Vegetarianism has become one of the most popular diets in the world, but does it really have benefits? Does it increase the risk of nutrient deficiency? To answer these questions, we put in your hands this guide that covers the most important questions about the vegetarian diet in order to follow it in a healthy way.

Follow us to learn more about the vegetarian diet for beginners.

What is Vegetarian Diet

It is a healthy alternative to traditional nutrition based on animal sources. Today, it has become easy to obtain nutritional requirements from non-animal sources, thanks to the availability of a wide range of vegetarian alternatives for each of meat, eggs, milk and its derivatives. In addition, there are plenty of recipes and cookbooks on vegetarian diet that you can easily find online.

Classification of Vegetarian Diet

We can classify vegetarians into three groups:

Pure Vegetarian Diet

In which you must exclude all animal products, such as animal meat, poultry, fish, eggs, milk and its derivatives and honey.

Dairy Vegetarian

You also exclude animal meat, poultry, fish and eggs, but you can include milk and its derivatives.

Dairy and Egg Vegetarian

You exclude the meat of animals, poultry and fish, but you can include eggs, milk and its derivatives.

Also read: Food to Lower High Blood Pressure Naturally

Benefits of Vegetarian Diet

In fact, there are no downsides to a vegetarian diet! Rather, the vegetarian diet has many healthy benefits, as you get nutrients from plant sources, not animal, it will get rid of most of the saturated fat and cholesterol found in a diet based on animal sources, as it contributes to lowering your cholesterol levels and blood pressure. In addition to maintaining your weight without excess, and these benefits, in turn, reduce your risk of heart disease, high blood pressure, type 2 diabetes and cancer.

 Vegetarian Diet
Vegetarian Diet

Does Vegetarian Diet Provide All the Necessary Nutrients?

Yes. but you must follow a well-thought-out and balanced vegetarian diet that contains the required amounts of carbohydrates, protein, calcium, iron, fat, fiber and other nutrients. This is because an imbalance can cause you to gain weight, hypertriglyceridemia and high blood glucose levels.

Vegetarian Diet Elements

As for the nutritional element and what you should know about them,they are:

Protein

Often the first question people ask about a vegetarian is, “How do you get enough protein when you don’t eat meat?” They don’t know that protein is available in most vegetarian diets. Protein-rich plant foods include nuts, seeds, legumes, lentils, tofu, and many foods made from soy and wheat gluten (protein from wheat). You can find all of these products in food and grocery stores.

Calcium

If you are a dairy-vegetarian and a dairy-and-egg-vegetarian, then you are able to consume dairy products and its derivatives that are rich in calcium. But if you follow a vegetarian diet, you can get calcium from plant foods, represented by dark green leafy vegetables, such as spinach, cabbage, broccoli, tofu with added calcium, almonds and blackstrap molasses, calcium-fortified breakfast cereals and juices. And remember that the rate of absorption of calcium found in plant sources is twice as high as the rate of absorption of calcium found in cow’s milk.

Iron

You can find non-heme iron (a type of iron found in plants) in dark leafy green vegetables, dry legumes, lentils, soybeans, blackstrap molasses, and spinach.

When you take iron with vitamin C, your body absorbs it six times better than eating iron alone. For example, a dish containing beans (iron) and tomatoes (vitamin C) would be excellent.

Fortunately, many vegetables such as broccoli and spinach are rich in both iron and vitamin C, so the iron in these foods is very well absorbed.

Vitamin B-12

It is the only vitamin that is not found abundantly in plant foods. But if you are a dairy-vegetarian or a dairy-and-egg vegetarian, you do not have to worry about vitamin B-12 deficiency, if you eat eggs, milk and its derivatives daily.

But if you follow a vegetarian diet (purely vegetarian), you should get it from fortified breakfast cereals and soy milk, which has a delicious taste similar to that of cheese, so you can use it as a substitute for cheese flavor in many recipes.

If you follow pure vegetarianism and your age is over fifty years, you should take a multivitamin supplement made for vegans, which contains at least 2.4 micrograms of vitamin B-12.

Vitamin D

Foods rich in vitamin D are rare. However, you can drink milk fortified with vitamin D to avoid the risk of vitamin D deficiency. This vitamin is found in mushrooms, soy milk, almond milk, and orange juice.

If you are a pure vegetarian, you can get vitamin D through direct exposure (without protection) to sunlight for 20 minutes, or by taking vitamin D supplements.

Also read: Vitamin D Deficiency – Symptoms, Causes and Test

People may choose to follow a vegan diet for health, environmental or ethical reasons. But whatever your reason for adopting a vegetarian diet, it is necessary to consult a nutritionist to make sure that you get all the nutrients sufficiently and do the necessary medical tests every once in a while to check on your health.

Frequently Asked Questions about Vegetarian Diet

What are Vegetarian Foods?

Everything does not contain any animal derivative, such as vegetables, fruits, legumes and nuts.

What are the Things that Vegetarians Don’t Eat?

Meat and animal products such as dairy, cheese, obesity and butter.

Does Weight Decrease When a Person Becomes a Vegetarian?

Weight loss does not depend only on the type of food, but also in quantity. If a person is a vegetarian but eats more than his body needs in calories daily, then he will not lose weight. Thus, the female diet has no direct relationship to weight loss, but it might help.

999

أصبحت التغذية النباتية من أكثر الأنظمة الغذائية انتشاراً في العالم، لكن هل لها فوائد حقاً؟ وهل تزيد من خطر الإصابة بعوز العناصر الغذائية؟ للإجابة عن هذه الأسئلة نضع بين يديك هذا الدليل الذي يُغطي أهم استفساراتك حول نظام الغذاء النباتي من أجل اتباعه بطريقة صحية.

تابعي معنا لمعرفة المزيد حول النظام النباتي للمبتدئات.

ماهي التغذية النباتية؟

هي بديلٌ صحيٌّ للتغذية التقليدية المُعتمِدة على المصادر الحيوانية، ففي يومنا هذا أصبح من السَّهل حصولك على المتطلبات الغذائية من مصادر غير حيوانية، وذلك بفضل توفُّر مجموعة واسعة من البدائل النَّباتيَّة لكلٍّ من اللحوم والبيض والحليب ومشتقاته، بالإضافة لتوفُّر الكثير من الوصفات وكتب الطبخ عن التغذية النباتية التي يمكنك العثور عليها بسهولة على الإنترنت.

تصنيف التغذية النباتية

يمكننا تصنيف النباتية في ثلاث مجموعات:

التغذية النباتية الصِّرفة

وفيها يجب أن تستبعدي جميع المنتجات الحيوانية، كلحوم الحيوانات والطُّيور الدَّاجنة والسمك والبيض والحليب ومشتقاته والعسل.

نباتية الألبان

أيضاً تستبعدين لحم الحيوانات والطُّيور الدَّاجنة والسمك والبيض، ولكن يمكنك إدخال الحليب ومشتقاته.

نباتية الألبان والبيض

تستبعدين لحم الحيوانات والطُّيور الدَّاجنة والسمك، ولكن يمكنك إدخال البيض والحليب ومشتقاته.

اقرأي أيضاً: اطعمة لخفض ضغط الدم المرتفع طبيعياً

فوائد التغذية النباتية

في الحقيقة ليست هنالك أيَّة مساوئ للنظام النباتي! بل إنَّ النظام الغذائي النباتي يمتاز بالكثير من الفوائد الصحية، فحصولك على العناصر الغذائية من مصادر نباتية لا حيوانية، سيُخلصك من معظم الدُّهون المشبعة والكوليسترول الموجود في النظام الغذائي المُعتمِد على المصادر الحيوانية، فهو يساهم في خفض مستويات الكوليسترول وضغط الدَّم لديك، بالإضافة للمحافظة على وزنك دون زيادة، وهذه المنافع بدورها تُقلل خطر إصابتك بالأمراض القلبية وفرط  ضغط الدَّم ومرض السكري من النوع الثاني والسرطان.

 التغذية النباتية
التغذية النباتية

هل توفر التغذية النباتية جميع العناصر الغذائية الضرورية؟

نعم، لكن يجب أن تتبعي نظاماً غذائياً نباتياً مدروساً ومتوازناً يحتوي على الكميات المطلوبة من الكربوهيدرات والبروتين والكالسيوم والحديد والدهون والألياف والعناصر الغذائية الأخرى، وذلك لأن عدم توازنه قد يسبب لك زيادةً في الوزن وفرط ثلاثي غليسيريد الدم وارتفاع مستويات الجلوكوز في الدم.

عناصر التغذية النباتية

أما بالنسبة للعناصر في النظام النباتي وما يجب أن تعلميه عنها فهي:

البروتين

غالباً ما يكون أول سؤال يطرحه الناس على النباتي هو: “كيف تحصل على كفايتك من البروتين وأنت لا تتناول اللحوم؟” هم لا يعلمون أن البروتين يتوفَّر في معظم أنظمة التغذية النباتية، وتشمل الأغذية النَّباتيَّة الغنية بالبروتين كلاً من المكسرات والبذور والبقوليات والعدس والتوفو والعديد من الأطعمة المحضَّرة من الصويا وجلوتين القمح (البروتين المستخلص من القمح)، وتجدين كل تلك المنتجات في متاجر الأغذية والبقاليات.

الكالسيوم

إن كنت تتبعين نباتية الألبان ونباتية الألبان والبيض، فأنت قادرة على استهلاك منتجات الحليب ومشتقاته الغنية بالكالسيوم، أمَّا إن كنت تتبعين التغذية النباتية، فيمكنك الحصول على الكالسيوم من الأغذية النَّباتيَّة المتمثِّلة بالخضار الخضراء الورقية القاتمة اللون، كالسبانخ والكرنب والبروكولي والتوفو المضاف إليه الكالسيوم واللوز ودبس السكر الأسود، وحبوب الإفطار والعصائر المُدعَّمة بالكالسيوم. وتذكري أن معدل امتصاص الكالسيوم الموجود في المصادر النَّباتيَّة أكبر بمرتين من معدل امتصاص الكالسيوم الموجود في حليب البقر.

الحديد

تجدين عنصر الحديد غير الهيمي (نوعٌ من الحديد الموجود في النباتات) في كل من الخضروات الورقية القاتمة اللون والبقوليات الجافة والعدس وفول الصويا ودبس السكر الأسود والسبانخ.

عند تناول الحديد مع أحد مصادر فيتامين C، فإن امتصاص جسمك له يتحسن بستَّة أضعافٍ مقارنة بتناول الحديد وحده، فمثلاً، طبق يحتوي على الفاصولياء (حديد) والطماطم (فيتامين C) سيكون ممتاز. 

ولحسن الحظ، تمتاز الكثير من الخضار كالبروكلي والسبانخ بغناها بالحديد وبفيتامين C معاً، لذا فإنَّ الحديد في هذه الأطعمة يتمُّ امتصاصه بشكلٍ جيدٍ جداً.

فيتامين B-12

هو الفيتامين الوحيد الذي لا يتواجد بوفرة في الأغذية النَّباتيَّة، لكن إن كنت تتبعين نباتية الألبان ونباتية الألبان والبيض فلا داعي لأن تقلقي من الإصابة بعوز فيتامين B-12، شرط أن تتناولي البيض والحليب ومشتقاته يومياً.

أمَّا إن كنت تتبعين التغذية النباتية (النَّباتيَّة الصِّرفة) فعليك الحصول عليه من حبوب الإفطار وحليب الصويا المدعَّمان، والخميرة الغذائية التي تتمتَّع بطعمها اللذيذ المُشابه لمذاق الجبن، إذ يمكنك استخدامها كبديل لنكهة الجبن في وصفاتٍ عديدة.

إن كنت تتبعين النَّباتيَّة الصِّرفة وعمرك فوق الخمسين سنة فعليك أن تأخذي المكملات المتعددة الفيتامينات المخصَّصة للنباتيين، والتي تحتوي على الأقل على 2.4 ميكروغرام من فيتامين B-12.

فيتامين د

الأغذية الغنية بفيتامين د نادرة، لكن يمكنك شرب الحليب المدعم بفيتامين د  لتتجنبي خطر الإصابة بعوز فيتامين د، حيث يوجد هذا الفيتامين في الفطر وحليب الصويا وحليب اللوز وعصير البرتقال.

إن كنت تتبعين النَّباتيَّة الصِّرفة فيمكنك الحصول على فيتامين د من خلال التعرُّض المباشر (دون حماية) لأشعة الشمس لمدَّة 20 دقيقة، أو من خلال تناول مكملات فيتامين د.

اقرأي أيضاً: نقص فيتامين د – الأعراض والأسباب والفحص

قد يختار الناس اتباع التغذية النباتية لأسباب صحية أو بيئية أو أخلاقية، ولكن مهما كان السبب الذي دفعك لاتباع التغذية النباتية، لا بد من استشارة أخصائي تغذية لتتأكدي من حصولك على جميع العناصر الغذائية بشكل كافٍ وقومي بما يلزم من التحاليل كل فترة لتطمئني على صحتك.

الأسئلة الشائعة حول التغذية النباتية

ما هي الأطعمة النباتية؟

كل شيء لا يحتوي على أي مشتق حيواني، مثل الخضروات والفواكه والبقوليات والمكسرات.

ما هي الاشياء التي لا يأكلها النباتيون؟

اللحوم ومنتجات الحيوانات مثل الألبان والأجبان والسمنة والزبدة.

هل ينقص الوزن عندما يصبح الشخص نباتي؟

نقصان الوزن لا يعتمد فقط على نوع الطعام، بل على كميته أيضاً، فإذا كان الشخص نباتي لكنه يتناول يومياً أكثر من احتياج جسمه من السعرات الحرارية، فلن ينقص وزنه. بالتالي لا علاقة للنظام البناتي بنقصان الوزن بشكل مباشر، لكنه قد يكون مساعد لذلك.